THE MULTIPARTY NEGOTIATING PROCESS (1993)

- Twenty-six parties and organisations attended the Multiparty Negotiating Process (MPNP) held at Kempton Park on 1 and 2 April 1993. Just days into the talks, on 10 April, South African Communist Party (SACP) leader Chris Hani was assassinated outside his home. The country was on a knife's edge but delegates at the MPNP decided to continue.
- 2. There was a hierarchy of committees that governed the way in which negotiations were conducted. The Negotiating Council was the main body, made up of two delegates and two advisers per participant. On 1 June, it set 27 April 1994 as the date for South Africa's first non-racial elections.
- 3. The Planning Committee, which met for the first time on 22 April, was responsible for the day to day running of the talks. Its members included: Benny Alexander, Colin Eglin, Pravin Gordhan, C. Kruger, Roelf Meyer, Cyril Ramaphosa, Stella Sigcau, Joe Slovo and Z. Titus. A sub-committee was formed, comprising Mac Maharaj, Ben Ngubane and S.S. van der Merwe.
- 4. Seven technical committees were formed.
- 5. The Technical Committee on Constitutional Issues was chaired by Dr. Francois Venter and had the following members: Advocates Arthur Chaskalson, Dikgang Moseneke and Bernard Ngoepe, Professors George

- Devenish and Marinus Wiechers, Firoz Cachalia, Willem Olivier and Michelle Olivier.
- The Technical Committee on Fundamental Human Rights was chaired by Professor Lourens du Plessis who was assisted by Professor Hugh Corder, Advocate Zak Yacoob, Gerrit Grove and Sgongile Nene.
- 7. The Technical Committee on the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) and the Electoral Act had as its members: Dennis Davis, Richard Rosenthal, King Ndlovu, Advocate Lopa Laubscher; J.H. Bruwer and Frene Ginwala.
- 8. The Technical Committee on the Independent Telecommunications / Broadcasting Authority and the Independent Media Commission was made up of the following members: David Dison, Michael Markowitz, Amanda Armstrong, P. Pretorius, E.J. Mabuza and Professor Carl Noffke.
- The Technical Committee on Violence was chaired by Paul Hatty. Its members were Mark Phillips, Suzanne Vos, Gert Myburgh, Velli Ntsubane, Piet Oosthuizen, Annette Seegers and Herbert Vilakazi.
- 10. The Technical Committee on the Transitional Executive Council (TEC) had the following members: Fink Haysom, Johan Heunis, Eric Mapheto, Advocate Kolekile Renene, Zenobia du Toit and Dawid van Wyk.
- 11. The Technical Committee on the Amendment or Repeal of Legislation Impeding free Political Activity as well as Discriminatory Legislation had the following members: J Dugard, M.G. Erasmus, P. Motlana-Moroka, P. Langa, and J. De Bruyn.

- 12. A Commission on the Demarcation of Regions was established on 28 May 1993. It was chaired by Professors Bax Nomvete and Flip Smit. There was also a Commission on National Symbols.
- 13. The South African Defence Force and MK held the first formal negotiation on 22 April in Simon's Town. The SADF was represented by Generals Georg Meiring, Pierre Steyn, Kat Liebenberg and James Kriel, as well as Niel Barnard. The ANC was represented by Mathews Phosa, Fink Haysom, Joe Modise and Siphiwe Nyanda.
- 14. On 8 May, the Negotiating Council mandated the Technical Committee on Constitutional Issues to produce a report on Constitutional Principles.
- 15. On 25 June, members of the Afrikaner Weerstandsbeweging (AWB) stormed into the World Trade Centre where the negotiations were taking place.
- 16.On 2 July, the Negotiating Council formally approved the election date, the government-African National Congress deal on the transition and the first set of constitutional principles. This resulted in members of the Concerned South Africans Group (COSAG) being the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Conservative Party (CP) and the KwaZulu Government walking out of the talks.
- 17. Also in July 1993, an ad hoc Committee on Fundamental Rights was formed to make political decisions on the Technical Committee's submissions. Its members were: Tony Leon, Halton Cheadle, Penuell Maduna, Sheila Camerer, Samuel Mothibe and G.W. Gwadiso.

- 18. On 26 July, an important milestone: the first draft of the interim constitution was submitted to the Negotiating Council.
- 19. In August and September, the Negotiating Council passed four bills for the establishment of the TEC, IEC, Independent Media Commission and Independent Broadcasting Authority. The Bills were tabled in parliament and passed into law by the end of September.
- 20. The ANC and the NP met between 25 and 28 October to finalise the interim constitution. The agreements were tabled with the Technical Committee on Constitutional Issues.
- 21. On 16 November 1993, Mandela, De Klerk, Ramaphosa and Roelf Meyer met to reach agreement on all outstanding issues. This was to be known as the "six pack deal":
 - 21.1. Cabinet would not have veto power;
 - 21.2. The government of national unity would last for five years;
 - 21.3. A single ballot paper would be used in the April 1994 elections;
 - 21.4. The Constitutional Assembly (CA) would adopt a new constitution by a 60% majority should a deadlock arise;
 - 21.5. Provisions relating to the provinces would require a two thirds majority support in the Senate and provinces would be able to adopt constitutions immediately after the elections subject to the Constitutional Principles;
 - 21.6. The final Constitution had to be certified by the Constitutional Court.

- 22. On 17 November, the Negotiating Council adopted the Constitutional Principles and the interim constitution was adopted by the plenary. Only the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) and Afrikaner Volksunie voted against it.
- 23. On 18 November, the Multiparty Negotiation Forum ratified the interim constitution.
- 24. In December, preparations got underway for the historic elections to be held in April. IEC commissioners were appointed under the leadership of Judge Johann Kriegler. Advocate Dikgang Moseneke was his deputy. In the same month, MK was symbolically disbanded while the TEC took office. Its mandate was to create a climate for free and fair elections.
- 25. The run up to the elections in April 1994 proved to be dramatic. While the IEC's three directorates began their work, on 11 March the Volksfront made a failed attempt to save Lucas Mangope's rule in Bophuthatswana. AWB members were shot dead in front of television cameras by Bophuthatswana Defence Force soldiers.
- 26.Later in March, Brigadier Oupa Gqozo resigned as the military leader of Ciskei. By the end of the month, a state of emergency was declared in KwaZulu/Natal. The IFP remained steadfast in its refusal to take part in the elections.
- 27.On 8 April, a meeting between Mandela, De Klerk, Buthelezi and King Goodwill Zwelithini ended in a stalemate. On 15 April, a Kenyan, Washington

Okumu, together with Colin Coleman from the CBM and Michael Spicer from Anglo American, met with Buthelezi to convince him to participate in the elections. They succeeded. On 19 April, Buthelezi announced that the IFP would contest the elections.

- 28.On 24 April, right-wingers set off a car bomb in downtown Johannesburg.

 More than a dozen bombings were reported on the eve of the elections.
- 29. On 25 April, Parliament held a special session to pass a law that allowed the late registration of the IFP as a participant in the elections.
- 30. At midnight on 26 April, the South African National Defence Force (SANDF) came into existence.
- 31. South Africa's first democratic elections took place on 27 April. The Interim Constitution came into effect and a Constitutional Assembly was elected to draft a final constitution with the help of an independent panel of experts.
- 32. On 10 May 1994, Nelson Mandela was inaugurated as the first President of a democratic South Africa. Thabo Mbeki was his first deputy president. F.W. De Klerk was the second deputy president.